Kyle Peters Claims Fourth Consecutive AMA Arenacross Championship

| by Motor Sports NewsWire

Peters overcomes adversity to clinch title early, other riders crowned following season’s end

The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates Phoenix Racing Honda’s Kyle Peters, who claimed the 2023 AMA Arenacross National Championship, his fourth straight title.

Peters closed out the 2023 AMA Arenacross National Championship two weeks early with a 2-1 main-event performance at the Salem, Va., round. Although winning titles has become the norm for 30-year-old Peters over the last few years, this one was special as it came on the heels of a vertebrae-injury recovery and took place in an arena just two hours from his hometown of Greensboro, N.C.

“To be able to do it the way I did it in front of my whole family and to be able to share that with them and share the victory, share the overcoming of all the obstacles, the adversity,” Peters said. “It was so incredible.”

Shortly after his 2022 title, Peters suffered a burst fracture injury of his C5 and C6 vertebrae April 9 at the St. Louis AMA Supercross round that forced him to have six vertebrae fused and spend six days in the ICU. The North Carolinian worked his way back for the AMA Arenacross opener in November, where he claimed his first of seven wins prior to securing the title, taking first in both motos.

Peters clinched the title with 368 points through 12 rounds.

Two weeks later the new-look AMA Arenacross had its 2022-23 season finale.

“Under new ownership, the 2023 AMA Arenacross season was a huge success,” said AMA Deputy Director of Racing Mike Burkeen. “A solid TV package and new technology has laid the foundation for bringing Arenacross back to its former glory.”

For more information on AMA Arenacross, visit

Full list of 2023 AMA Arenacross class champions:

  • Micro 3 (7-8) Limited
    Lorenzo Alves
  • 85cc (9-15) Open
    Amari Arnold
  • Vet (30+)
    Jonathan Chism
  • Micro 2 (4-6) Limited
    Beau Dorn
  • 85cc (9-12)
    Gage Dunham
  • Mini Sr. (12-15)
    Gage Dunham
  • 50cc Aircooled (4-8) Limited
    Collins Knuth
  • 2-Stroke (14+)
    Gannon Lawson
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-17)
    Gannon Lawson
  • 65cc (7-9)
    Bensyn Levan
  • 250 B
    Kaden Lewis
  • 450 B
    Kaden Lewis
  • Schoolboy 2 (12-17)
    Kaden Lewis
  • Supermini (12-16)
    Grant McDonald
  • Senior (40+)
    Robby McQuary
  • Pro Sport
    Kyle Peters
  • Masters (50+)
    Wayne Seboa
  • B/C Open
    Bradley Sharma
  • Open A
    Jordan Smith
  • 65cc (10-11)
    Eidan Steinbrecher
  • 65cc Open (7-11)
  • Eidan Steinbrecher
    Micro E (4-8) Limited
    Luke Taylor
  • Micro Open (4-8) Limited
    Luke Taylor
  • 250 C
    Gavin Wayland
  • 450 C
    Gavin Wayland
  • College (18-24)
    Jason White

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. Besides offering members money-saving discounts on products and services, the AMA also publishes American Motorcyclist, a recently revitalized and monthly full-color magazine (and digital version of same) that covers current events and motorcycle history with brilliant photography and compelling writing. American Motorcyclist is also North America’s largest-circulation magazine. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today:

AMA Logo 2019

Related Articles